Football Is My Life

Anytime you can make a quasi-Hunter S. Thompson refrence in your writing, it’s a very good thing. Unfortunately all I got is the title, slightly ripping off the title of his unpublished novel “Polo Is My Life.”

But really, the title is telling the truth. Football, and all its intricacies, is wonderful.

I know the way I’m writing about this may seem a bit creepy, but I don’t care. I care about three things in my life: Football, Heroes, and my girlfriend. In that order.

(Just kidding…)

Anyways, the great thing about football is there’s so many ways the average fan can enjoy the sport. There’s the NFL, NCAA, CFL, and even the AFL for people who are that crazy. (Note: I’m actually not one of those people.) There’s TV, Radio, Internet (GameCast and things like that, where every single play is document along with constantly updated stats,) and so much more.

(Sounds like I’m trying to pitch something to you eh? I’m not… but read on.)

The single greatest thing about football though: fantasy football. Fantasy sports, in which people draft real-life NFL players onto their “fantasy teams” in a league with either strangers or friends. It’s often played for money, and when the players do well in real life, so do the players in the fantasy league. Now that we got that little intro out of the way, allow me a little paragraph to gloat.

Last year, though I did not finish first in the league, I won the championship, and therefore, most of the pot. My key league move was a mid-season trade that got me Tony Romo, Joseph Addai, Brandon Jacobs, and Kellen Winslow. Forget their performances this year, but last year they really helped in the stretch run.

Anyways, onto this year. I had the fourth pick in a ten-team league, and here’s how I drafted:

Round Pick Player Position
1. (4) Steven Jackson RB
2. (17) Andre Johnson WR
3. (24) Larry Fitzgerald WR
4. (37) Calvin Johnson WR
5. (44) Greg Jennings WR
6. (57) Kellen Winslow TE
7. (64) Jonathan Stewart RB
8. (77) Selvin Young RB
9. (84) Chris Perry RB
10. (97) Steve Slaton RB
11. (104) Jay Cutler QB
12. (117) Eddie Royal WR
13. (124) Eli Manning QB
14. (137) Robert Meachem WR
15. (144) Deuce McAllister RB
16. (157) Michael Bush RB

I dropped Bush, McCalister, and Chris Perry almost immediately, to pick up a Defense and a kicker (two useless postions which I’ve changed on an almost weekly basis.) I also dropped Eli Manning before the season started. Who did I pick up? When Steven Jackson was banged up and I badly needed a running back, I traded Eddie Royal and Calvin Johnson for Marion Barber. So with a likely win in the semis, I am now headed into the finals with this starting roster: QB Matt Schaub, HB Steve Slaton, HB Steven Jackson, WR Greg Jennings, WR Larry Fitzgerald, WR Andre Johnson, TE Zach Miller, WR Devone Bess as my flex (or Marion Barber, haven’t decided yet,) K John Kasay, and New Orleans D (they’re playing Detroit.)

Basically I’ve got a good chance, nut you can never be too cocky.

By the way sorry for wasting the last few minutes of your life. This was barely a real post. Except maybe the first paragraph. I started this post off expecting to write about how much I love football (oh, I also love Madden, the ultimate [and only] football video game,) and ended up just bragging about my fantasy team, and wasting your precious life. For that I apologize, and I promise will try to step it up in the future. Keep checking back.

Oh and I feel bad for the time I wasted, so here’s a video:

Oh and check yesterday’s post for the video I was talking about but forgot to put in. It’s a collage featuring every song Kanye West has sampled in its original form, as well as a few seconds of how Kanye used it. It’s pretty cool.

One Response to “Football Is My Life”

  1. It Doesn't Matter Says:

    Can you spell L-U-C-K-Y ?

Leave a Reply

