Singing The STM Blues

I hate public transportation. Despise it. I’m usually a nice guy, and I don’t generally like using suhc a hateful language, but the STM deserves it.

And it’s not just the fact it takes so long to get home. The whole trip, the metro, the bus, and the walking, is an ordeal. And writing about it, while leaned awkwardly against a pole, my notebook bent slightly against my upright lap, (oxymoron?) is even worse.

But I do like writing. And when I switched my blog over to WordPress, I vowed to write more often, so here’s that effort. (Nice, I just got a seat.) In the original Blender, well not the original but the one on BlogSpot right before this, I had this thing called “Book Posts.” Like most of my blog gimmicks, it lasted only a few posts.

I had this hardcover book filled with blank pages I would keep in my bag. When the mood struck, like if i was bored in class, waiting for something/someone, or using the STM, I’d whip it out (That’s what she said,) and start writing. (Wow it’s a lot colder outside than on the metro.) When I’d get home, I’d type it up, and put the post time the time i started writing it.

Anyways, back to my hatred for public transportation. Sometimes if you have someone to accompany you on this death trip, it doesn’t turn out that bad. I’ve actually had some pretty decent conversations with friends or acquaintances while riding the bus/metro. But alone, it’s a bitch. (Damn, no empty seats on the bus.)

Luckily, I’m seldom alone. Barring a random bout of forgetfulness, I usually have my iPod on me. And thankfully, I have a few good playlists. From now on, when I write these “Notebook Posts,” I’ll post the songs I listened to while writing. Actually, I’m gonna do that for all my posts. This playlist I’m listening to right now is very good. I started it in the middle at a random song, and I’ve let it run its course. I am not at all regretting my decision.

One song who’s awesomeness I had forgotten until just a couple of minutes ago is “Sympathy For The Devil,” by The Rolling Stones. Even though it’s up there as one of my favourite songs of all time, I haven’t listened to it in a while. It came up on the playlist a few minutes ago, and the guitar solo is INSANE. It very well might be the best solo on any Stones song ever, and that’s saying something.

Wow my back’s starting to hurt. I hate not getting a seat. Usually, if I’m at home writing a blog post, in the comfort of my own room, with a decent chair supporting my back and the advantage of an ergonomic keyboard instead of an awkwardly bent notebook and a pen, I end my posts early.

It’s not that I run out of idea, more the fact there’s so many other things to distract me which I’d much rather do. When I’m metroing, busing,. and now even walking home, why not continue writing? I have nothing but my music (which I’m still listening to, as Stevie Wonder’s “Isn’t She Lovely” begins to fade.

I can’t wait till I enter my house and I leave the horridness of the shlep home.

And here I am. Home sweet home.

Songs listened to while writing:

“Good Vibrations” – The Beach boys

“All These Things That I’ve Done” – The Killers

“Beautiful Boy” – John Lennon

“So Lonely” – The Police

“Sympathy For The Devil” – The Rolling Stones

“Johnny B. Goode” – Chuck Berry

“Jolene” – Dolly Parton

“Living On A Prayer” – Bon Jovi

“Isn’t She Lovely” – Stevie Wonder

Leave a comment